Owning a vehicle allows you the freedom to get to work, be social and enjoy life. However, if you don’t have car insurance, you could find yourself in a sticky situation if you get into an accident. The amount of insurance you need depends on your personal driving habits. Use these tips to decide how much VA car insurance to purchase.
Stick to the Laws
Most importantly, you need to purchase the amount of insurance required by the state. This keeps you from incurring fines if you’re in an accident or if you are pulled over by the police. Virginia requires all drivers to maintain bodily injury, property damage, and uninsured motorist bodily injury and property damage insurance of up to $50,000 per accident.
Consider Your Driving Habits
While Virginia requires up to $50,000 per accident, it is important to remember that many serious accidents rack up bills much higher than this amount. If you only have the minimum amount of insurance, you could be left to pay the overage. Consider purchasing a larger policy if you drive for work or are on the road often during high-traffic times like rush hour.
When purchasing VA car insurance, always do so from a reputable agency. Verify licenses and check online reviews to determine how happy current and previous clients are with the company before you sign on the dotted line.